How to Simplify Your Email Newsletter (And Save Time!)

Whenever I would write newsletters as a short-term missionary, I would use Microsoft Word, but I was never really satisfied with it. Other newsletters just looked so good. After I was shown how to use Microsoft Publisher that became my main crafting tool. But using it took a long time to make the letter.

1cIEUxg

When my wife and I start full time missionary work again, and we had to send out newsletters, I knew I wanted to find something else. My friend Seth Heydinger had been recommending I try MailChimp, and after hearing from him and some others who used it I decided to give it a try. And you know what? I LOVE it! I love to find things save time and simplify my life.

Here’s 4 Reasons you should switch to MailChimp for your email newsletters.

Microsoft Publisher is too confusing. Publisher can do just about anything you can think of in a newsletter. The only issue is whether or not you can find it. Whenever I used it I had no idea where to even begin looking.

MailChimp creates newsletters and manages your email list. Once you enter your email mailing list, you can send them letters simply by checking that group. The only you have to do is make your letter and click send. You never have to mess with all those emails again.

MailChimp’s “drag and drop” system makes crafting newsletter fun! Seriously, all you do is select the template you want (e.g. how many columns you want) and then add content from the options of blocks on the side. When I first started using it, it was actually fun. Even if I wrote an entire section, corrected the fonts, and added pictures, I could just drag the section to another spot and Presto! It stays exactly the same, exactly where I want it.

Your letter is sent out instantly. I have myself included in my mailing list to see how it looks, but this also allows me to know how fast it goes out. And boy is it fast! I’ve clicked “send” only to receive the email seconds later. It’s great!

What do you enjoy about MailChimp? What do you use for newsletters? 

Leave a Reply

