The Filter I Need to See Things Properly

I love movies. I enjoy good story telling and creativity in films. But if I’m not careful I can spend too much time watching them. Then all of a sudden the day is over and I have no more time for the things I need to do.

More and more, I’ve been realizing that if I’m not focused on the most important things, I’ll miss out. I’ll wander. I’ll fail. And that’s my worst fear. How do I figure this out? It’s a Sunday School answer, but it’s a good one: Jesus.

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him. Colossians 3:17

Man, how that changes your view when you start to see your speech, your jokes, your hugs, your trips to the store, your time at church, your support meetings with potential supporters, through the lens of “how can I do this for Jesus?”

There’s 2 ways I see this being played out.

1. Be Intentional. I want to specifically look for ways to honor Jesus. Being goody two-shoes don’t cut it. It’s got to be sacrificial…out of your way helpful. Think through who you normally talk to and ask how you can show Christ to them. Think through your actions, your work, and ask how you can be a better example of someone who’s life has been changed.

And be a little happier while you do it too, alright? 😉

2. Be Focused. Our world has so many things screaming for our attention right now. I’m sure you can probably list 5-10 things yourself. Stephen Covey talks in his book 7 Habits of Highly Effect People that we need to hone in on the things that are urgent and important. Only those two qualifiers lets things into our lives.

So for example, is it better for me to watch that show I love for an hour or go do my exercise for an hour, improving my health and everything I do better because of it?

Leave a Reply

