The Phrase That Changed My World

JPEG image-0DCFBE4194F8-1College. First day. Big class. New world.
Growing up homeschooled, it’s a little shocking to go from a class of 3 to 300. But that wasn’t even theater school; that was just my class. There were another 200 in the Sophomore program. These were some of the things I contemplating the first day of class at the Word of Life Bible Institute in Schroon Lake, NY. But what I truly remember is the first words of the class…


I will not quit; by God’s grace, I can do it.

Our first teacher was Dr. Wendall Calder, who taught us the book of James. But before anything else, he taught us those words. We recited them several times, each day of that first week. And like so many students before us, we would repeat that phrase many times throughout the year.

I still say it to myself. Because it’s not just a phrase for your freshman year of college…it’s one for life. “I press on toward the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” (Phil. 3:14)

Whatever situation you’re in, support raising, leading a church, working a crummy job, raising crying children…you CAN get through it. Why? Because you will not quit; by God’s grace…you can do it.

Leave a Reply

