Book Review: 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey

Imagine yourself walking in to a funeral. The people are seated, still talking, waiting for the procession to begin. As you make your way in, you step forward to the casket, and then see the most shocking image possible…yourself! That’s a summary of the image Dr. Stephen Covey presents in one of the chapters in his famous book “7 Habits of Highly Effective People.” This is my book review.

7HABITS

Before I get too far into this, I’d just like to point out that I haven’t written a book review in years (as in, too many to give an exact number). So this will not be thorough or pristine, but just an overview of what I thought about the book. So back to the example above.

This illustration was eye-opening to me. The point Dr. Covey makes after this is what do you want said of you when you die? How do you get to that point? The opening idea is that you must start with a principle-driven life, and then chart a course for where you would like your life to go. For example: As a principle, you want to have a healthy and vibrant marriage. But that doesn’t just happen by itself, so you need a plan.

I was really challenged by this book to not take the back seat in my life, but to jump into the driving position. Now I believe that God is sovereignly in control of all things and he has a specific purpose for me, but I also believe certain things are up to us. For example, God clearly commands me to make disciples (Matthew 28:19), but he doesn’t say “Dan Vanderkooi will go make disciples in the country of Poland.” But if I want it to be said of me by God and by people on earth that I followed my Lord then I need to be intentional about making disciples.

The book challenged me not only in how I conduct my personal life, but how I interact with others. I don’t agree with everything in the book, but most of it is pretty dead on.

Bottom Line: I would recommend this book to anyone, men or women, who are tired of everyone else running their lives and ready to live by something that is beyond personal opinion: principles. And more importantly, they need to be God’s principles.

Note: I do not receive any payments for this book review. I’m simply sharing my experience and opinion of this book.

You can shop for this book online by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

