How Goal Setting Changed Me

In December I turned 26, and even thought it’s still a young age by most people’s standards, it was eye opening for me. It occurred to me that in just 4 years I am going to be 30! It made me question what do I want my life to look like when I’m 30? Where will my ministry be? Will my marriage be stronger? Will I want to increase my education? All sorts of life areas and questions came up. I realized that if I was going to be who and what I wanted to be, and more importantly what God wants me to be, then I was going to have to start setting some goals. You and I need standards by which to measure our growth and progress. flying arrows archery bullseye bow arrow 1080x1920 Wallpaper

After my wife and I talked this through, we decided that I would take Michael Hyatt’s 5 Days to Your Best Year Ever online course. It taught be how to move beyond the past, make S.M.A.R.T.E.R. goals, and find my motivation for accomplishing them.

Planning things ahead is not a new concept, but one that should be practiced more. If we can make extensive plans for projects and buildings, why don’t we do that for our lives? Now as a Christian, I believe that God is sovereignly in control of all things. But I also believe that God is not micro-managing our lives. God said to make disciples wherever we go, but what form that takes He left up to us.

I also learned that if you want to change, if you want to grow, you must be intentional. You have to plan on it, strive for it, and even look for it in the daily events of our lives. Being intentional is you taking the reigns and living your life for God’s glory instead of hoping He is honored by just sitting around waiting for life to happen to you.

It’s not a perfect process. In fact, I’ve already stumbled in the regular steps to keep up with my goals. But I’m getting back in there and finishing the fight.

Goal setting has given me focus, drive, and vision, not only in my life, but other areas as well.

I would encourage you to check out Michael Hyatt’s podcast on mistakes in goal setting for help on what to do and what not to do.

Leave a Reply

