A Leadership Lesson From King David

Most people only hear the public addresses of their government leaders, but here in the Bible, in the book of Psalms, we have a special opportunity. We get to read the heart-felt thoughts of one of the most famous kings in all of history: King David.

In Psalm 119 and verses 79-80 we have a simple lesson in leadership. They read:

“Let those who fear You turn to me, that they may know Your testimonies. May my heart be blameless in Your statutes, that I may not be put to shame.”

David’s goal was simple: tell others about the great things God has done. 

In order to do this, the king had one thing on his mind: obeying the Lord’s commands.

He knew that he needed God’s Word. And without the Bible leading his way the end result would be him “put to shame.” Without God first leading us, we will fail to lead others.

For me, this means daily spending time reading my Bible. I use Word of Life’s Quiet Time Diary to help me track through the Bible. I read a small chunk of verses, then answer the two simple questions: “What is the writer saying?” and “How can I apply this to my life?” And if I get lost in a passage there’s a commentary to help explain it.

And that brings me to my question:

What leadership principles do you see from King David’s life? How do you apply them to your modern-day lifestyle? Comment below and share your answers.

2 thoughts on “A Leadership Lesson From King David

Leave a Reply

