“Did you clean in there yet?”

Here I am! Back in the good ‘ol US of A! I’ve returned back to America with the ending of my Hungarian internship; and after some good vacation time, I find myself sitting in a familiar place. Part of my time in the States is being spent serving in my home church as an intern, mainly helping with the youth ministry. The youth pastor is still one year new to the church, and I haven’t been here in three years, so we’re both, in a sense, in the same position: being new and learning as we go.

But some things are still the same. The staff is the same. Most of the rooms are still the same. And my office is still the same. Believe it or not, I’m sitting in the same office space I had three years ago, and everything is still here! The chair, the phone, phone book, table, tissue box, stapler…it’s all still here! So I spent part of yesterday cleaning it out. Funny how some things just get so dirty when you don’t do anything with it. Kind of like our lives, when you think about it. We don’t change things, don’t work on improving ourselves, don’t spend plenty of time bringing God into our lives, then nothing is going to change.

Leave a Reply

